All titles - Bonnier Books UK

Manilla Press

Your Results(showing 3)

  • Romance
    September 2020

    Charlotte

    by Helen Moffett

    ‘A single woman of no great fortune must be in want of a life . . .’ Everybody believes that Charlotte Lucas has no prospects. She is unmarried, plain, poor and reaching a dangerous age. When she stuns the neighbourhood by accepting the proposal of buffoonish clergyman Mr Collins, her best friend Lizzy Bennet is appalled by her decision. Yet this the only way Charlotte knows how to provide for her future. Her married life will propel her into a new world: not only of duty and longed-for children, but secrets, grief, unexpected love and friendship, and a kind of freedom. Jane Austen cared deeply about the constraints on women in Regency England. This powerful reimagining takes up where Austen left off in Pride and Prejudice, showing us a woman determined to carve a place for herself in the world. Charlotte offers a fresh, feminist addition to the post-Austen canon, beautifully imagined, and brimming with passion and intelligence. A fresh, feminist addition to the post-Austen canon, beautifully imagined, and brimming with intelligence and passion.

  • Biography & True Stories
    September 2020

    Stories of Hope

    by Heather Morris

    ‘Stories are what connect us, and remind us that hope is always possible.’ Heather Morris, Author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz. Heather Morris grew up in rural New Zealand. As a young girl she would sit at her grandfather’s feet and listen as he spoke to her about his experiences of war – stories he told no one but Heather. She discovered that people would entrust her with their most sacred stories if she stopped and listened. In Stories of Hope, Heather will explore the art of listening – a skill she employed when she met Lale Sokolov, the tattooist of Auschwitz. It was her ability to really hear what he was trying to tell her, that led him to pick Heather to tell his extraordinary story of courage, survival and love against all odds.

  • Historical fiction
    February 2022

    The Gifts

    by Liz Hyder

    The incredible debut adult novel from Liz Hyder, the multi-award winning author for BEARMOUTH. A young woman staggers through the woods. Something is happening deep inside and as she's thrown to her knees in agony, the world around her stops. When she comes to, she is astonished at the sight of her shadow - it has wings. Meanwhile when rumours of 'fallen angels' cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune will find himself in the grips of a dangerous obsession, and the women he seeks in the most terrible danger... A gripping and ambitious novel told through three female voices and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth-century London, THE GIFTS explores science, nature, religion, enlightenment, the knife-edge roles of women in society and the dark danger of ambition. This astonishing debut novel is perfect for fans of THE MERMAID AND MRS HANCOCK, THE ESSEX SERPENT and THE DOLL FACTORY.

Subscribe to our

newsletter